Post Card 3 – Coon Cat to California

Maine Coon Cat to California

My next card is off to California, it is going to the Jensen Family.  They love their cats and they have a Main Coon and a Persian Cat.  I have heard about Main Coons they are big, fluffy cats with amazing eyes and huge ears.  Now I must admit at this point I am a dog lover, but cats eyes are amazing. 

It is interesting what people lead off with in their profile.  The previous postcard went to the Russian couple whose first words were about how much they loved each other, while the Jenson’s led with their cats.  I started with my name and where I live, how prosaic.  I need to go back and revisit my profile as the most important things in my life are not my name and address.  Yep, just went back and had another look at my profile and it is not showing what is really important to me in a dynamic way… now I just have to figure how to do just that.

  • Topic  Did not have to go far to get the topic, but what was I to do with it.  I have rarely drawn a cat before and I it scares me.  I looked up Main Coon cats, and they are great.  So did I want to do a caricature, a full length portrait or what.  No ideas came.  I had to go back to what I loved about cats and it is their eyes, so vivid in colour, unlike dog’s usual brown.  So finally settled on this picture of a close up of a main coon’s eye.  I can tell you, the eye was fine to draw but how was I going to get all that fur to work.
  • Medium  Decided to go with a more natural style, still with coloured pencils but this time no outlines, no ink.  This is a different style for me, I really like a good outline,  crisp definition between objects.  A good discipline to forgo this and let the shading delineate the differences in the cats face.
  • Outcome  Wasn’t so happy when I initially finished it.  Had to walk away from it, as I was frightened I would over work it.  Apart from the nose it came together fairly quickly.  I was good and worked the drawing up gradually from light to dark, working over the whole picture rather than finishing one area before going on.  Except for the eye of course, but that was the fun bit.  But when I came back to it I was pleased , it has worked surprisingly well.  Happy after all, some times drawings just need space apart and fresh eyes.

Pleased to let this little cat out into the world.  It can leave this house of dogs and wing its way over to California. Hope they like it.

This is the reply I received from the Jensen Family

“wow – when your card arrived we were all amazed that someone would go to the effort to create such a work of art for us. Thank you, thank you, thank you. We all love the project you have created and are happy that we were lucky enough to be included. We looked at your web page and checked out the other 4 cards you have created and think they are awesome. Thank you again for doing such a great drawing and good luck with your future drawings, I know the recipients will be most happy when they receive them.

happy post crossings,
the Jensen Family”

3 responses to “Post Card 3 – Coon Cat to California

  1. Wow! That’s gorgeous! They will be delighted! 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comment. You are the first person to comment on my blog, i can’t tell how excited I am. but the fact I danced around the lounge room my give some indiction. Glad you liked my cat. Checked out your website, loved all the videos you have on it. Not up to that level of sophistication yet. Maybe one day.

  3. You have noted very interesting details! ps nice site.

Leave a Reply

