Postcard 5 Grapevine Tendrils to German Winelover

Grapevine Tendrils

I thought that this postcard was going to be easy.  Some of these postcards have been completed in under an hour, from image searching to finished article.  The Coon Cat, which has been the favourite so far with readers and the one I feared the most was easy in the end.  This one took me ages.

  • Topic The recipient Klaus in Germany was a food and wine lover, someone after my own heart.  I immediately had an idea for a postcard, I wanted to do a grapevine on a trellis.  When I went searching for an image, I couldn’t find one that would work for me, getting very frustrated as I  had seen the subject matter on plenty of wine bottle labels before, ( I admit to being familiar with plenty of wine bottles in my time), it wasn’t that unique.  In my surfing I did find a number of pictures of tendrils so I decided to do tendrils on the wire instead. I have often admired the tenacious tendrils they have a mind of their own and are amazingly strong.
  • Technique  I wanted to show the difference in the materials I was drawing.  It was clear in my mind.  Black ink, cross hatched for the wire line.  Pale cream of the tendril and muted greens for the background, showing hints of the vine leaves.  The wire went well, the tendril took more time, but that background really tried to defeat me.  You would not believe how many layers of colour are in that background.  The first attempt had it too green and nothing stood out, so another four layers of colour and I had something close of my minds image.

Tendrils take 1

  • Outcome Three hours of work, one hour of image hunting and it is still not as good as I had imagined it.  Sometimes I just have to let go.  I am happy with it, but would really like another go at it to see if I could get it better.  I think it needs to be a bit closer so I can get the detail in that i need.  As you can properly tell by now, I like cropped, closeup images.  I really enjoy getting close to everyday items and showing them to people as they might not have looked at them before.  That is what I see as one of the roles of art, to show people a different way of looking at the world, maybe they will then get more out of the world then they did before.

Well Klaus, I hope you like for postcard, it was made for you as an old world  , from me a new world wine lover.  Plenty of effort went into it and a couple of glasses of a very good Pinot Noir from the Mornington Peninsular.  Great wine region near Melbourne.

Salute!!

2 responses to “Postcard 5 Grapevine Tendrils to German Winelover

  1. Klaus Guenther

    Hi Karen!

    It´s me, Klaus. I hope you´ll receive also this answer. Only now I can appreciate your wonderful postcard, after i read your informations on this blog. You card will be the very very greatest favourite of all the cards, I received. I´m very proud of it.

    Thank you so much !

    My wine-favourits: Riesling (of course), Nebbiolo from Piemont (no Barolo, he´s too expensive) and a lot of wines from Toskana and Friuli.

    Klaus

  2. Greeting Klaus,

    Thank you so much for your comment, I was worried that the card would not carry my full intent to you. So glad you were able to read my blog and understand the thought behind it. I love Nebbiolo as well and I am fortunate enough to share Barolo with a generous frined. Riesling is making a come back in popularity in Australia after the domination of Chardonney and Semillion, glad to have it back on the wine lists again.

    Cheers
    Karen

Leave a Reply

