Out from the hidden portfolio

I have finally got around to scanning a lot of my artwork that has up to this time been sitting in my portfolio at home.  It is interesting as I have kept most of my drawing since I was in high school and very few people have ever seen my work.  I am proud of most of my work, but just a little shy of showing it.  This may surprise some as I am not usually known as a shy or private person.  My art has been a separate part of my life, in fact not many people know that I do any artwork.

I have found the term ‘Artist’ a little overused and abused.  Some too readily take on the term artist and are busy talking about being creative without the discipline or hard work it takes to refine those skills into real quality.    I really struggle with the ‘A’ word and seldom if ever used to refer to myself as such.  As I have done little consistent work over the years I did not feel that I qualified for the title, it was such a small part of my life (though important) I was not easy in calling myself such.  I am gaining more ease with the term in the last few years and am comfortable with my blog name occasional artist.

So this year I am determined to make claim on the Artist term.   I am going to put it out there for the whole world to see and hold my breath and find out what happens.  But is my work good enough? As few people have seen it, it is a little hard to ascertain. I think it has merit and when I look around at galleries etc, I believe it is not too far off the mark.  My gaol is to hold an exhibition and start selling my work, but the journey has only just begun.

As I finish the scans they will go up on my Gallery and I will share them with you.  Be gentle but if you have time for feedback I would be grateful.

Leave a Reply

