Sprigs of Rosemary

Sprigs of Rosemary   Oil Pastel A1 size

This is one of my earlier works.  It is from a series of oil pastel works that I did in the early 2000.  I had not worked with oil pastels before and had a lot of fun with these works.  It is not so different from my pencil work as they are a build up of layers.  With the oil pastels I would add a layer of pastel then blend it together with turps then add another layer on top.  I loved the depth of colour this gave me and it was interesting to work with oil pastel as you had to work in a bolder manner as I was not familiar enough with the medium to gain much fine detail.

This is one of my favourite works.  I really struggled with the composition as it is just a mass of rosemary, but I like how it worked out.

4 responses to “Sprigs of Rosemary

  1. Great work! Good day Nonoy Manga

  2. i need ur hlp plz….i dont knw how do i get perfection in using these oil pastels ….just saw your wrk…i mst say they are fantasic…so i thought of taking some tip…it would b my plzr 🙂

    • Hi Disha,
      Thank you for your kind comment. I am not an oil pastel expert and I just love to layer colour. The only thing that I have done that is any different is that I used turps to blend the oil pastels and to get a complete coverage of the paper, before I put another layer of oil pastels. It is this building of layers of colour that I like. If you look at my post Grevillia 5 Anatomy of a drawing, you will see how I go about a drawing, this is with pencil, but I use the same technique with oil pastels. Good luck Karen

Leave a Reply

