Post Card 11 Sleeping Cat to Netherlands

I have another postcard to the Netherlands.  Netherlands and USA are my main destinations.

  • Topic Alexandra listed her main likes for postcards as fairy tales and cats.  I decided on cats again, but I did not want to do another realistic one like the Coon Cat, while that was very popular.  I decided to do a sleeping cat.  The way cats curl up to sleep fascinates me and I found a great picture of one curled around almost upside down.  I started to outline the picture with a few lines so I could get the proportion right on the postcard, then stopped.  I liked it just as it was.  10 lines was all it needed, loose, free and a bit abstract.
  • Medium  Having got the lines on paper, I simply went over them in black pen and that was it.  Hopefully less is more.
  • Outcome  I like, but I know what it is, showed others and they got it finally.  So not sure how it will go down, but I love the flowing lines and its enigma, maybe it is just like cats?

So enough of the cats, I need to give dogs equal time.  Where are the dog lovers on Postcrossing?

9 responses to “Post Card 11 Sleeping Cat to Netherlands

  1. alexandrafeist

    Hello! Thank you so much for suggesting that blog from Melbourne Street Art, I checked it for a bit and there’s some amazing stuff there 😀 I’m following it now, so thank you again!

    Are you into Postcrossing? Maybe someday we can make a private swap 🙂

    Xo Alex

  2. Hello!
    Thank you a lot for this beautiful card.
    At first I was like huh, but then I get it!
    I’m very proud of this handmade card from Australia.
    You did it wonderfully.
    Groetjes uit Holland,

    • Thank you so much for letting me know that you liked my card. I was worried that it was too abstract and you would not understand it. So pleased you got it as it is one of my favourite postcards. Karen

  3. This is really pretty. I’m looking for an image for a tattoo in memory of my first love and would like to know if I could get permission to use this, if you’d have any requirements. Thank you for your consideration!

    ~Amy

Leave a Reply

