Poppies in the Meadows

Poppies in the Meadow

Yesterday I went for a drive around Sancerre, as I was driving through the countryside I saw these poppies growing on the edge of a wheat field.  How perfect, I had to stop.

Now when people travel they talk about what they want to see, with Paris people were asking me what I was going to see, Louvre, Versailles or Eifel tower and this stumped me as although these sounded like great things to do, they were not things I was looking forward to.  I have thought about this and I have been looking forward to doing things or being in places, I wanted to sit in a Paris café and watch the world go by, I wanted to get up each morning a buy my baguette from the boloungerie, I wanted to stroll around a French village and buy my lunch from all the little shops and sit outside and have a picnic, I wanted to see the wild flowers in the meadows and hear what springtime sounded like in the forest.

I am happy to say that these are things that I have done, just not the picnics yet, it has been too cold and wet.  But today the sun is shining so a picnic is on the cards for tomorrow by the Loire.

Back to the poppies.  I struggled with this painting and it did not turn out as I would have liked.  This is not really my style of work, but it gives you some of the feel that I wanted of a tangle of growth and the bright spots of the poppies.

Karen

 

5 responses to “Poppies in the Meadows

  1. You’ve caught the fragility of their petals, how they easily get windblown, and how they are such bright spots among the herbage. Nicely done, Karen!

  2. It’s lovely! I like the progression of the composition.

Leave a Reply

