Kangaroo Paw 1

Kangaroo Paw 1

Greetings.

Sorry to have been away for so long, I am living up to the name Occasional Artist.  The recovery from my trip has taken longer then expected, damn this chronic fatigue.  I also struggle with winter and July in particular.  But they are my problems and not what you need to her about.

I haven’t completely been flat on my back and have managed to complete another drawing.  This is in fact a great achievement for me as I am still managing to create something.

Kangaroo Paws are another favourite native flower of mine.  So architectural and different with the most amazing colours.  I love that the stems are red while the flowers are green, how contrary is that. This painting is 20.5 x 42cm, getting larger again.

Karen

.

5 responses to “Kangaroo Paw 1

  1. Karen, I’m happy to hear that you are still creating! What crazy flowers! Your colors and shapes are wonderful – so clear and bold and yet delicate. This is beautiful.

    • Thanks Ruth, your comments are greatly appreciated. It is nice to have something to publish again and to know that some of the feeling you want to convey about your subject matter is reaching the viewer is satisfying. Karen

  2. Lovely work Karen. Winter certainly sucks, but it’s a good time to stay indoors and paint!

    • Thanks Richard, It is great to be warm and cosy when it is wet and cold outside, but just when I think Melbourne will be grey forever the wattle starts and the magnolias and you get caught up in the whirlwind that is spring. I love watching the gardens come alive and the fresh green of new leaves is just enchanting.

Leave a Reply

