Grevillea 5 – Anatomy of the drawing Part 2

Grevillia 5

Grevillea 5 Finished painting

I have finished the drawing so here is the second installment of the Anatomy of the Drawing.

Background

I decided to do a dark background for this painting as the flowers where so light, and went for complimentary colours to make the painting zing.  As the main colour of the flowers are yellow I went for a muted purple background.  I never use just one colour and this background is made up of dark greys (darkest at the bottom prisma colour cool grey 90% up to 50%), a great colour called dark grape and dark purple.

Grevillia 5 8

Background of painting before solvent

The background under painting showed through too much for me so I used a solvent (orange zest) to dissolve the colours and give a more even tone and then went back over it again in pencil.  I don’t like to use solvent often as it takes away all the life of the pencil strokes, but occasionally when I want better coverage or am trying to fix a problem I find it very helpful.  Here is a picture that shows how the solvent changes the work.

Grevillia 5 Solvent on the background pencil

Grevillea 5 Solvent on the background pencil

Outline

My last step is to outline the picture.  I do this to really emphasis the forms and make the shapes and colours pop.  I also really like a good outline, always have, ever since art school which drove my lecturers crazy.  It gives my work a graphic, print quality that I enjoy.

Grevillia 5 Ink Outline

Grevillea 5 Ink Outline

I used to use fineliner pens, put the wax in the coloured pencil would clog them up very quickly and kill them.  So I am now using old-fashioned nib pens and my Sennelier Ink.  This is sooo much better and I love to use these lovely pens, such a link to the past and the lines are much more alive.

So there my friends you have it.  This is my process in making my art, I hope you enjoyed your second instalment and others are also inspired to share their processes , it is so interesting and informative to see how others work.

Karen

 

9 responses to “Grevillea 5 – Anatomy of the drawing Part 2

  1. Great to see your process Karen, and the finished painting (drawing?) is lovely. I have some of the zest-it, but haven’t really come to grips with it yet – more practice needed!

    • I am glad you enjoyed the second part. Like you not sure about whether it is a painting or drawing, I have gone with painting as it is mixed media. I see that there is a mixed view in the coloured pencil world on what the art work should be called. I am still messing around with zest it and have found that a cotton bud is the best method for me as I work with large areas. Karen

  2. I agree with the comments above. this piece really is wonderful. It’s really fantastic what you able to draw with such a simple medium.

  3. Pingback: birthday flowers from occasionalartist | Vetti: Live in Northcote

Leave a Reply

