One Year of Blogging and an on-line exhibition

Hydrangeas Snippet of my next painting

Hydrangea Snippet of my next painting

It has been a year since I started this blog, and what a year it has been. I could not believe how much it has given me and how far I have progressed with my art.  Thanks Vettie you gave me the courage and support to start.

When I first started, I was not sure if anyone would even see my posts let alone be interested and now I have just passed the milestone of 100 followers and have made some great connections with artist all over the world.

I had no clear direction with my art when I started and now I have become comfortable in a style and have a body of work that I feel is good enough to start exhibiting.  In fact I have made a very small step along the way and have entered one of my drawings into the Australian Coloured Pencil Networks on-line exhibition.  It should have been two works but somehow the Hollyhocks failed to upload so it did not get in.  A shame but something to learn from. (Check your application really did upload!)

So thank you to all of you who have followed my blog, liked a post or taken the time to comment.  Know that your interest, support and kindness have made a difference to me and my art, and given me the confidence to take my art to the world and push through the fatigue to continue to create.

One of the artist that follows my blog and who’s comments I greatly value is Richard Klekociuk, who won the mixed media category and has a wonderful and insightful blog I recommend visiting.

Mixed Media

Richard Klekociuk

Richard KlekociukVisit Richard’s Website Tasmania

ARTIST STATEMENT: My artwork is inspired by the Australian landscape. I work from observation, drawings and my own photos. I am particularly interested in light and shadow, pattern and weathering. Abstraction and symbolism also find their way into my work from time to time. I work with a variety of pencils usually on pastel board.

FROM THE JUDGE – BETSY JONES:

For the mixed media category, I have selected Entry #04. The range of techniques used along with the vibrant color scheme makes my heart skip. I found myself looking deeper into this image, sticking my nose into my monitor, to see every little detail within this piece. There is a conversation of colors and textures here, and a sort of playfulness. This one made me feel like I was stepping into another world, complete with little surprises; such as the golden cracks in a cliff, the vermillion rock formations, the army of stones, and that little slash of cerulean sky – everything compositionally was unique and wonderful and exuded an earthy energy.

Congratulations Richard and best of luck with your exhibition.

Karen

10 responses to “One Year of Blogging and an on-line exhibition

  1. Thanks Karen for your kind words and for promoting my blog.
    Happy first birthday!
    I have enjoyed watching your work (and your blog) grow and I wish you well in your future creative endeavours. Looking forward to more of your posts.
    Warmest regards, Richard

  2. Congratulations on your first year!

  3. Your colours leap off the page, such a delight to see your confidence soar too! Loving your work as always, happy 1st birthday! xo

  4. Congratulations on your first year! I just came across your blog today and am going to start following it too 🙂

  5. Congratulations! and best of luck next time.

Leave a Reply

