Waratah 1

20131207-203737.jpg

It has been a while since I have done a coloured pencil drawing of a flower, so on my mini holiday I decided to draw a Waratah that I had bought for my office. It is so nice to have flowers in my office at work as I spend so much time there it makes the space so much more pleasant.

I have really enjoyed doing this drawing, it was so nice to work with the familiar. I tried to give the flower more space on the page, I do like a lot of white paper to show and too give the subject room.

20131207-203815.jpg

I did the under painting of this picture with my Sennelier inks and really liked the results, so I think I will do another just in ink, it gives such a fresh look.

I have added some more pictures of my holiday to share with you, it has been a lovely time away, very relaxing and rejuvenating. I will be ready now for the final rush up to Christmas and the summer holidays. Combining Christmas and the summer holiday break as we do in Australia makes for a very busy time.

20131207-204057.jpg

This is my holiday studio, such a lovely view down to the valley.

20131207-204335.jpg

This is one of the beaches on the Great Ocean Rd, I added this one for you Jennifer Tan.

20131207-204956.jpg

This one I couldn’t resist, a Australian farmers Christmas scene, I drove past and had to come back for a photo, just to get into the Christmas spirit.

Karen

12 responses to “Waratah 1

  1. Thankyou for the lovely photos and what a gorgeous drawing.

  2. Karen, it’s gorgeous! Thanks for providing the image of it on your desk. Nice to have a little perspective of size. 🙂

  3. Karen I was completely blown away by your drawing. It is absolutely lovely. Your colours are so intense.
    Then I got the beach shot and fell out of bed! Thank you! The colours are just like maui. Oh you lucky thing!
    I’m so glad you were able to get away (to paradise) and reconnect with your art.

    • Hi Jennifer, you made me laugh, fall out of bed indeed. I have been looking forward to your reaction to the photo, and I have plenty more summer scenes to share with you as I will be visiting friends at different seaside locations over the Christmas break. Karen

  4. I love the colored pencil drawing. I too am a servant of the spirits of the colored pencil, or “coloured pencil” in your language. I forgot that you probably don’t speak American in your country. I will be looking forward to more of the elegant artwork and brightly-blended colours. Did I get it right that time?

    • You speak Australian really well, I really enjoyed your blog and I hope your northern winter is kind to you. Many, many long years ago I lived in Texas for a couple of years, but that was further south in Houston, if I have my geography right. Karen

  5. Stunning drawing Karen, love it!

Leave a Reply

