Playing with Pattern

Sticks and stones blue hues 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

Sticks and stones blue hues 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

As I promised to show you in my last post, I have  designed and coloured in some of my own patterns.  So much fun.  I have designed a few patterns with two colour ways.  I wanted one design for the top of the box with another design for the bottom.  I have always loved pattern and this has been a great time just playing with form and colour.

Daisy Chain blue and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

Daisy Chain blue and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

 

Squared, blue and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

Squared, blue and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

The colours were a bit of concern, I wanted to push them a little, not just to use my usual ones, so I did what I normally do and looked at colours that I liked.  In this case it was mid-century designs.  I downloaded some on Pinterest and picked out the colours on the computer (Photoshop, although I am only a wee grasshopper in the working of this program, it did the job.)

Mid century colour swatches

Mid century colour swatches

Funny, although these colours have changed I can still recognise them as my palette.  I was worried that I had lost their integrity so I showed the patterns to a friend of mine who really knows her mid-century designs and she assured me that they were authentic colours.

Daisy Chain gold and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

Daisy Chain gold and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

 

Squared gold and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

Squared gold and green 30 x 30cm Coloured pencil and ink

So I am happy with the samples and am in the process of making larger drawing so I can scan and print them.  I already have plans on how else I can use these papers and am getting orders from friends who also want some.

Working on designs Australia Day

Working on designs Australia Day

Yesterday was Australia Day and we had the most perfect day to celebrate, sunny, still and 30C.    Happy Australia day to my fellow Aussies I hope you had a lovely day.

Karen

 

8 responses to “Playing with Pattern

  1. Ohh Karen! I love the top design! Something about circles and lines always grabs my attention. Looks like you’re having fun!

  2. Oh what a joyful post. I love the colours – why do you choose mid century I’m interested. And does mid century mean 1950s? Glorious day in Sydney. Cleaning cupboards and slowly packing up. Think I need another dip. Mx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Mid century does mean 50s but with a bit of room to move. I like the colours, but they are not my usual palette which made me stretch myself a bit and move out of comfort zone. Enjoy Sydney. X

  3. Looks like you have been having fun Karen! So interesting how the patterns change character with the change of colour. Pattern is very satisfying isn’t it?

  4. Your patterns are bright and breezy. Do you know, they remind me of patterns of summer dresses I used to wear around 1968 to 1972 when I was 8 to 12….shift dresses.

Leave a Reply

