Coral Bean

Coral Bean double Journal Page watercolour pencil and ink.

Coral Bean double Journal Page watercolour pencil and ink.

Here is my picture of a coral bean.  The picture of the coral bean has been a favourite of mine for ages and is adapted from a photo by John Petranka.

I wasn’t sure how I wanted to do the background so I have a few different version for you.

Coral Bean black and White.  Ink drawing in journal.

Coral Bean black and White. Ink drawing in journal.

The one I most like is this one with the simple background.

Coral Bean Plain pattern Journal Page  Watercolour pencil and ink

Coral Bean Plain pattern Journal Page Watercolour pencil and ink

Though this one with the fully coloured in background has merit.

Coral Bean Full Background Watercolour pencil and ink

Coral Bean Full Background Watercolour pencil and ink

 

I will let you decide which one you like best.

Karen

11 responses to “Coral Bean

  1. They look great, I love the colours.

  2. Those beans are fabulous! Luscious colour and so smooth. All the backgrounds look good, but the beans are the star of the show!

  3. If you wanted to take this further – like Anna Warren has done with some of her art – I have a mental image of your coral bean transformed to a beautiful necklace.

  4. I just want to reach into your drawing and pick up the bean! For me, all three images work well on their own. Personally I’m pulled most towards the background with green & white squares. The background isn’t overly busy with color variations and allows the bean to be the star. I really enjoy all the work you’ve been doing these days Karen!!!
    Gale 🙂

    • The green one is my favourite too. I was going to fully colour in the other side but got as far as the green and liked it so much I had to stop. These ink tense pencils have lovely colours. So pleased you like this new work, always a bit daunting to change directions. Karen

  5. Both lovely but I do love the yellowish background. Lovely work

  6. I like them all! Beautiful work. – Sharon

Leave a Reply

