Double Cello

I was looking for something to draw the other day, in my quest to do a couple of sketches a week, when I spied my nieces cello.  What a fabulous shape! That certainly needed to be drawn.

Cello Sketch pen and water colour pencil.  Drawn first with ink.

Cello Sketch pen and water colour pencil. Drawn first with ink.

The first drawing was done in my new quest to draw straight with the pen first, no messing around with pencil sketches, which has been very daunting.  It is a little bit wonky but I am learning to embrace the less than perfect nature of these sketches.  I have to say the it has made me pay much more attention to the object I am going to draw.  With the pencil I tend to gradually manipulate the drawing until I get it right but with the pen I have to work things out before hand and that means really looking at the object, the shapes, negative shapes and how one shape relates to the other.  I realised that I had been getting lazy and drawing what I think is there rather than what I was seeing.

Cello Sketch pencil, ink and water colour pencil.  Pencil drawing first

Cello Sketch pencil, ink and water colour pencil. Pencil drawing first

The second cello I draw with a pencil sketch first as I really wanted to emphasis the curves and shapes and not worry overly by the detail, plus I was frustrated with the pen sketch.  To my surprise I find I like the first one better and the more I look at those who draw with pen, the more I like that style of drawing.  There is a freshness and honesty about these drawings which is not there with the ones that I compose with pencil first.

Sketchbook skool has taught me never to give up on a drawing and not to sweat the few wrong lines, just complete the drawing and see what happens, and I have to say I like it.

I would be interested to hear what you think.

Karen

13 responses to “Double Cello

  1. I really like both of these, but for me I prefer the second one, as you say it has a freshness and honest feel to it. Going straight in with the pen can be daunting and not does not leave much room for mistakes, but good practice methinks. I also remember an art friend of mine saying the same thing, “draw what you see, not what you think you see” something that has stayed with me forever. I look forward to seeing more 😊

  2. Cellos are beautiful aren’t they; both the look and the sound of them.

  3. When I was looking at the drawings to tell you which one I liked better, I found that I needed to figure out a criteria on which I would base that decision. Since you are not using these for a specific purpose the criteria has to be which I would prefer to look at right now. These aren’t to hang in my house, use as a logo, they aren’t to illustrate an idea…What I came up with is, which tells me more of a story of who YOU are? Ultimately, the one that gives me a sense of the person that you are is the one that I will find more interesting. It isn’t, after all, about the cello, right? It’s about the artist and how the artist resonates within me when I see the work. The first cello in this post gives me more about you than the second one, so that is the one that I find more compelling. The second one is a really lovely drawing and I enjoy the feel of the brush strokes and I like looking at how the brush strokes were informed by the pencil but there is less of a sense of adventure and inquiry going on in the first drawing.

    • Thanks Paula for such a considered comment, I very much enjoyed your thoughts. I had not thought about the criteria readers would use to judge the drawings and would not have given one even if I had thought of it. I think the criteria people use is personal and so very interesting, I appreciate you sharing yours. I made that little correction, I didn’t know before that I could edit the comments of others, not something I am comfortable doing even though you had asked me to do it.

  4. Going straight in with pen is daunting, but it also gives a freshness and immediacy that working more carefully can lose. I think you did a great job with the pen one, the richness of colour adds to it too.

    • Thanks Anna, This has been my latest challenge to myself and I am getting used to it slowly. I can’t wait until I get more proficient, it will speed up my sketching so much and enable me to get more down and as you say give the work much more freshness. Karen

  5. The change of line thickness really helps emphasize the form. Such warmth to your color blending in the top cello! Lovely job on both.

  6. yes, editing other people’s comments is possible, but generally not something I do, except for maybe errors in spelling. . Last time I edited a comment was when an artist that I was referring to commented on my post then let me know that I misspelled his name. I left the main part of his comment, changed the spelling of his name in the post, and deleted the part of his comment that noted the misspelling. An historian would balk. In any case, I wanted to indicate in my post that I liked both, but it was the first one that had the sense of adventure and inquiry, which made me like it better. So I wanted it to finish with “but in the second drawing there is less of a sense of adventure and inquiry going on than in the first drawing.”

    By the way, I love how your are always changing the heading picture!

Leave a Reply

