Bali Morning

 

Drawing of courtyard at Villa Kresna, Seminyak Bali water colour and ink.

Drawing of courtyard at Villa Kresna, Seminyak Bali water colour and ink.

Arrived in Bali yesterday afternoon, a little shattered after a flight spent at the back of the airline full of excited children and a two hour wait in the customs queue. But Villa Kresna where I am staying in Seminyak for the first three nights, is a beautiful, calm oasis. I sat at the little table outside my villa and drew this picture of the pool and courtyard I look out on. Isn’t it divine.

Drawing at Villa Kresna Seminyak Bali

Drawing at Villa Kresna Seminyak Bali

I did the line drawing last night and finished this morning, still getting to know water colours and trying to take the advice of the lovely Ruth Bailey a gorgeous water colour artist I follow and leave some of the white paper shine through.  I am pleased with how the water turned out and think I finally got some of the contrast happening after having to repeatedly go back and deepen the colours.

A nice quiet day today, with a spa this afternoon and I should be ready to adventure out tomorrow.

Karen

 

4 responses to “Bali Morning

  1. yes, divine! I notice that you are filling the left page. Are you left handed?

    • Thanks Paula, no I am not left handed, just like to use both sides of the paper. I made my journals out of 180gsm water colour paper so they are nice and thick and you can easily use both side of the paper.

  2. You lucky lucky thing – Bali! I’ve just come back from Liverpool! Hope to see Bali, through your eyes in the next few posts. Lovely sketch soooo sunny and warm.

Leave a Reply

